2009 Big Rock Goal #3 – German Lessons

This is the third in a series of 5 posts describing my Big Rock Goals (major milestones) for 2009.  Every year I try to set up some reasonable specific goals that I can devote my time and energy to.  Every year when I finish them, I feel proud and happy that I’ve really managed to accomplish something special.  Here is what I’m going to be working towards this year . . .

Read about my Big Rock Goal #1 – Boxing Cardio Challenge
Read about my Big Rock Goal #2 – New York City

German School Report Card.jpg

The study of languages is something that has interested both my husband and myself for quite a while.  Last year we went through a series of 90 Japanese audio lessons designed to make us functional in Japanese because we were planning on traveling to Japan.  One of the other places we’d like to go visit is Germany, in part because my family is from Germany and I have a lot of relatives living over there.

So, this year, we decided to follow a similar 90 lesson progression in German so that we can at least speak a bit of German.  I’d also like to be able to read and write German so that I can communicate with my relatives a bit more easily.  I recently emailed a cousin of mine in response to a Christmas email I received from him.  Corresponding in English was a bit awkward because I know it isn’t his first language and I kept wondering if he would be able to understand what I was saying.  Knowing a bit of German would sure help in that regard.

We’ve already gone through a few of our lessons and I’m picking it up a bit more easily than L is.  Probably because I’ve grown up hearing bits of German and took a year of German lessons when I was 5 7 ( I just pulled out my old report card, I didn’t realize I was that old when I went to German school!).

Next in the series, I’ll tell you about my main creative/career goal.

1 Comment

  1. January 17, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    […] my Big Rock Goal #1 – Boxing Cardio Challenge Read about my Big Rock Goal #2 – New York City Read about my Big Rock Goal #3 – German Lessons Read about my Big Rock Goal #4 – NaNoWriMo […]


Leave a comment