Next Projects

So the year is almost over and I have to say that it has been another super-productive year.  Looking back at what my major goals were, I accomplished all of them (with the exception of the Women’s Health Ultimate Fitness Challenge, which I switched with the push-ups challenge).  Now every day when I look at my list of major goals, I see nothing left to strive towards as they’ve all been crossed off.  I’ve already started wondering, what’s next?

There are a few goals and projects that I’ve already figured out for next year.  My sister and I are planning to go to New York in March.  I’ve always thought that New York with my sister would be a fun trip!  We’ll go and catch a Broadway show and take in the sights of the city and do a bunch of shopping.  So, that’s one major goal.

Next year, I will be participating in NaNoWriMo2009 to an even greater extent than I was this year since I was asked to join the organizing team for the Vancouver area.  This has me absolutely thrilled since I love taking part in the event and would like to help out to make it even better.  I’ve already got a list of ideas and things I’d like to do throughout the year to make next year’s event even better!

And, my husband and I have already decided that we’re going to start working on some German lessons.  It’s the same type of lessons as the Japanese ones that we did last year and we’ve already done the first lesson.  I’m hoping to spring some on my mom next week when we go over to bottle some wine with her and my step-father.

A few other things that I think will get crossed off of my to-do list will be a few things from my reading list.  Also, I think I’ll finally get to participate in a book group as I’ve decided to join The Next Chapter as they go through The 12 Secrets of Highly Creative Women.  You might all get to watch my progress on this as it is a blogging book group.  I haven’t yet decided if I will blog about it here, or on my other blog, or start a whole blog just for this particular journey.  Any feedback on this is definitely welcome!

I am still looking for some health and fitness milestones that I can strive towards.  I’ve decided to take part in The Walk for Memories in support of the Alzheimer Society of BC in January, but this walk won’t really be pushing my physical limits.  I’m currently thinking about doing some jump rope conditioning as I can do jump rope almost anywhere with very little equipment and it’s great cardio.  But, I need to work out a measurable goal for that if that’s what I decide to do.  I’d love to hear any and all ideas about some other fitness milestones I can pursue in the new year!

Just because I’m looking for a new fitness goal doesn’t mean I’ve given up on my push-ups or anything else though.  I’m still doing at least 25 push-ups a day.  I’m also probably going to continue with belly dancing, but my husband and I are also thinking about taking some ballroom dance lessons along with two other couples and I’m rapidly running out of available evenings.

So, it doesn’t look like I’ll be slowing down at all in 2009.  The classes I started last fall will continue and I’ll be doing all of these other things as well.

  • So, should I start up a separate blog for my book blogging in January?
  • What kinds of milestones do you use to motivate yourself to stay healthy and fit?
  • What kinds of goals will you be working on next year?

I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

Leave a Reply

