NaNoWriMo – Week 1 Update

Things are going so well!  I still really like my story and my characters.  The planning ahead of time has been very helpful!  Here’s roughly where I’m at . . .

  • Word count – over 14,000 and ahead of schedule
  • Story progress – Still in the first act.  Will probably need more than 50,000 words to take the plot to completion.  I’m considering celebrating 50K, but continuing to write it into December, holiday madness permitting.
  • Am trying to ramp up excitement for Vancouver in the Vancouver vs.. Toronto word war.  Hopefully, I will have time to pull off some morale boosting hi-jinks this weekend.  I really like encouraging other participants and helping people have fun.
  • Pre-planned scenes are almost all done.  This is good and bad.  Good because they went really well.  Bad because now I need to plan the next set of scenes and then write them all and that’s a lot of work.
  • Have to figure out the ending and whether or not to give the heroine a love interest.  If she does have a love interest, there are a couple of contenders I’d have to choose from.
Leave a Reply

