Day 2 of NaNoWriMo

I figured it wouldn’t hurt to do another update.  I’ve got time while I wait for the NaNoWriMo website to load up.  This is pretty normal in the first bit of the competition.  Things usually slow down once the initial frenzy wears down a bit.

So far, things are going very, very well for me.  I’ve gotten more than the standard words per day so far, which gives me a bit of a buffer for the week, where I know that I won’t get this much writing time in.  Here is what has helped me be successful so far:

  1. Loads of support and people cheering me on.  Especially all the fellow Wiffers out there who are also participating!
  2. A wonderful husband who does a great job helping out around the house and just plain staying out of my way.
  3. Writing challenges.  I’m a bit competitive so the thought of some other people out there all trying to write as much as they can while I’m trying to write as much as I can, really forces my brain to focus on just that.  Otherwise, I tend to wander all over the internet.

This is totally reinforcing that I am a plotter.  I wish I’d had more time to do research and think through the scenes before starting.  But, hopefully I can do some of it as I go and just wing it for the rest of it. 

Leave a Reply

