Planning for a Reward

I am very bad and giving myself rewards for anything.  So, I find it helps to plan for them a bit.  This week, I am at the 40 push-up stage of my 50 push-up challenge and I realized that I should probably have some sort of ‘yay me!’ moment at the end of it all.  But, I’m having trouble coming up with much.  I don’t want it to be something expensive but I don’t want it to be something too small either.

I have until November 30th to figure it out, since then I will be officially ‘done.’  It’s kind of odd that completing that goal will correspond with finishing NaNoWriMo 2008.  NaNo is its own reward since you (theoretically) have a manuscript when you’re done.  Plus, there’s a party (though I couldn’t make it to the one last year) and lots of co-participants to congratulate you.  My push-up challenge is just something I’m doing on my own so I don’t have the same group mindset.

For some possible rewards, here’s what I’ve come up with so far . . .

  • Read the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer (from the library, so I don’t have to spend money)
  • ?????

And that’s where I get stumped.  Since push-ups is an exercise, I feel as though my reward should at least not be unhealthy (ie. chocolate, dinner out, etc).  But I always find myself at a loss for coming up with rewards and scheduling them in.

Anyone have any great ideas for me?

Edit: It just occurred to me that at the end of November I will also have recently finished up a belly dancing class, a treat for myself might be to sign up for another belly dancing class, if I like the studio, teacher, etc.  That might be something I’m more willing to invest the money in once I’ve started.

Leave a Reply

