Re-framing Happiness at Work

I recently read an article over on Think Simple Now about finding passion in your job.  It reminded me that even though I don’t think my current job is the right career for me, my happiness there is largely dependant on me and not everyone and everything else.  So, I’ve started on the first suggestion the article had – writing down things that you do like about your job.  I’m thinking that this will not only help me reinvigorate my interest in my current position, but also help me clarify what I like and don’t like so I can find a different job that plays to those strengths. 

So far, I’ve found that I enjoy meeting with interesting and diverse people and I like explaining how things work (when I understand it well enough to do so). 

2 Comments

  1. Tina Su said,

    June 23, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Those are great realizations. I hadn’t think about that, but it’s true, the process of writing down what you like helps to add more clarity and will help in identifying what is it you want in your next job.

    I’ve been doing this for the past year, and as I am transitioning out of my old job and into a better job situation for myself, I’m learning to appreciate and enjoy what I have now.

    Love that you’re sharing your big and medium rocks with the world. I do big,medium and small rocks too, but haven’t shared them with the world yet. Maybe I will in a future article. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

    Warmly,
    Tina

  2. Jacklyn said,

    June 27, 2008 at 6:14 am

    This is fantastic. And perfect timing for me. I absolutely am not happy with my job. In fact, I had two interviews this week! I am going to start working on these tips immediately. 🙂


Leave a Reply

