Current Hobby Thoughts

I have very eclectic interests and a short attention span.  That’s how I think about it when I’m in a good mood.  When I’m in a bad mood, I think I must have some sort of hobby-attention-deficit-disorder and often bite off more than I can swallow.  I tend to vacillate between some different areas of interest resulting in a lot of half finished projects and ever-increasing project and to-do lists.  I’ve been contemplating cutting back on some things lately so that I can focus deeply on something instead of just skimming the surface before moving on to something else.  The problem is that I don’t know what I’d give up.  So, for the time being, I’ll just continue on with what I’m doing.

I’m in a bit of a reading mood lately.  A friend lent me his copy of On Writing by Stephen King, which I devoured in about two weeks.  Ever since I participated in NaNoWriMo last year, I’ve been thinking about my writing projects and trying to get more time devoted to writing and stories.  I’m also officially addicted to the Will Write For Wine podcast, which is hilarious and helpful in many ways.  I’m a bit addicted to daydreams, but I’m finding that I’ve been forcing my fantasy world into more meaty and substantial things instead of pure fantasy.  I spend time mulling over the goals and motivations of the characters running through my head, instead of just letting them go wild.  Hopefully it’ll eventually turn in to something more concrete.
I’ve always been interested in my family tree.  I think the fact that the families of both of my parents still live in Germany, and we never had much contact with them, made me a bit more curious about them.  Since my Dad passed away, I’ve been getting more and more interested in it.  I started writing down the few facts that I know on Geni.com and have been listening to all the old shows from The Genealogy Guys podcast.  I’m not ready to start interviewing family members just yet (especially since mine speak German and I speak English) but I’m thinking about ways I can add it in to my long list of hobbies and interests.

On a more crafty front, I’m madly trying to finish a pair of baby booties for friends of mine expecting this June.  I love the actual sitting down and creating aspect, but it comes in little fits and spurts that it’s hard to get a whole project done in a reasonable amount of time.  I keep thinking about some of the other small projects I’d like to do after this one and maybe this summer I’ll get a chance to try some.

1 Comment

  1. Jacklyn said,

    April 22, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Is it weird that I’m anxiously awaiting photos of the baby booties?! Haha, I really really can’t wait to see how they turn out!

    I’ve always had a small desire to research my family tree. I think once I got over the initial boredom and repetition of doing a family tree project in just about every grade growing up, I actually enjoyed learning about my family. My problem is, I haven’t got any grandparents left on my father’s side as of last summer and nobody really knows much past my great grandparents. Keep me updated on your progress with it, maybe I’ll find the motivation to get started on mine. 🙂


Leave a Reply

