A New Kind of Normal

Well I’m back (I hope).  The last while I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting about happiness and trying to get back to some kind of normalcy after that last ‘cosmic kick in the pants.’  (That’s my special term for these life-altering situations that just shake your whole foundation.)  For those out there who were worried about me (Jacklyn, that’s you) I appreciate the kind thoughts and words.  They really do help at difficult times.

I’ve also just been ridiculously busy lately.  As my father was passing, all the good routines and habits I’ve built up over the past several years, all kind of fell apart.  Life marches on though and I had to start picking up all the pieces again and getting back into all those old habits.  I found it was very difficult and I couldn’t just throw them all back into my life at once.  That was way too overwhelming.  But, they’re slowly creeping back in and my life is getting to a new state of normal once again.

One of the things that’s helped immensely is that I’ve started writing in my journal again.  In fact, I went out and splurged on a new journal.  Not just a dollar-store el cheapo version.  It’s a higher quality journal that I decided to treat myself to.  The paper is so-o-o-o nice to write on!  Especially when I use my nice heavier ballpoint pen.  There is something very primal and satisfying about all the physical elements of writing.  Not only does it help for me write about the things that are stressing me out, but it’s also been a forum for me to flesh out some of the ideas that have been going around in my  head.  Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about what Gretchin Rubin has discussed on her blog The Happiness Project.  In particular, I’ve been trying to think about what makes me feel good.  I live a lot of my life just trying to prevent feeling bad, but I’d also like to explore feeling good and focus more of my energies on that aspect of my life as well.

I’ve also been thinking about family and legacy.  I’ve started to seriously contemplate starting genealogical research into my family.  For the family of my parents it would be a bit difficult as their living relatives and all the documents are mostly still in Germany and I don’t speak German, yet.  But I’m tempted to start on my husband’s family which is much more local and has lived in Canada for many generations.  I’m not diving right in like I usually would because I don’t want to add another obligation in my life just now.  It has prompted me to seriously evaluate my life and see where I might fit in the time and resources.  I’m looking at some of my current hobbies and wondering if it’s time to let them go to make room for a new one.

I’d love to say that I’m going to be posting regularly, but at this point, I’m really just not sure.  At work, part of my job at this time of year is to help prepare tax returns.  So with the April 30th tax deadline looming, we have all been swamped.  Plus, I want to get a bit ahead with some of my work stuff for the three weeks when I’ll be in Japan.  The vacation is the other reason I’ve been busy.  There were train tickets to order (done), and a few hotel reservations to make (partially done).  Plus, since I’m a list organizer, there have been all sorts of lists to make.  And, we only have 11 more Japanese lessons left in our course!  Hooray!  A lot of it is falling out of my head already, but I’m going to try to condense an essential phrase guide of my own to bring along for the trip.

So, my new blogging resolution is going to be to blog when I can about whatever I can.

4 Comments

  1. Jacklyn said,

    April 11, 2008 at 3:17 am

    I was hoping to hear from you soon. I was starting to get really worried! I’m really pleased to hear you’re trying to get your life back on track. It is very difficult, but I think accepting what’s happened and beginning to move on is the first step in healing (although wounds like this will never completely heal, they become easier to deal with down the road).

    It’s funny how when we receive those cosmic kicks in the pants how everything in our lives sort of comes into focus. Even though a lot of the time those kicks can be devastating, I’m always looking for the good in them. I think that’s what you’re doing now as well. Realizing your life is super busy and re-evaluating what you really need to do to get things in order for what comes next… Like this trip to Japan!

    Japan?!?! That is so cool! I’d love to visit, but the only Japanese word I know is sushi, so I’m not sure how I’d fit in over there. When are you going? For how long? When can I expect to see some beautiful photos on the blog? I hope that you have a FANTASTIC time!

  2. jennerosity said,

    April 14, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    We were originally thinking about going there for a year to teach, but ended up changing our minds. Our trip is going to start May 5th and we’ll be over there for 19 days. (Eep! That’s coming up so fast!) We are both brining cameras and hopefully I’ll be able to post some pictures shortly after we get back at the end of May. It might very well be done as I get over my jet lag and find myself wide awake in the middle of the night.

  3. Jacklyn said,

    April 22, 2008 at 5:52 am

    I am super excited for you! Do you have a flickr account? Flickr is by far my favorite photo sharing site. (http://flickr.com/photos/jacklynburgan/)

    I really hope you don’t come back wrapped in bandages like you’ve just gone through surgery, I heard that’s what the Harajuku girls are rockin’ these days. 😉

  4. jennerosity said,

    April 23, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I do indeed have a flickr account too. (http://www.flickr.com/photos/jennerosity/). I’ve already added you to my contact list. I love using flickr too and I will definitely be uploading photos from Japan on my flickr site.

    I definitely don’t think I’ll be sporting Harajuku fashions when I get back. If I’m bringing home any Japanese fashion it’ll be a kimono.


Leave a Reply

