My hardest writing project ever

After five years of steady and rapid decline from the disease of Alzheimer’s, my father passed away on Monday evening.  My sister and I were not by his side when he passed but my step-mother had just returned to his bedside after taking a short dinner break with her best friend.  She had been waiting by his bedside for three days.  And now our grieving will begin.

I never would have volunteered for the job of writing his eulogy.  Even though I think of myself as a bit of a writer, it’s not an assignment or project I ever would have asked to do.  But, my step-mother suggested it and even though I didn’t think I was able to at first, as I reflect on it more and more I think this will be my chance to celebrate his life.  I’m fairly certain this is the going to be the hardest thing I ever have to write.

1 Comment

  1. Jacklyn said,

    March 29, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Jennifer, I’m so sorry to hear about your father. Alzheimer’s is a dreadful disease and so difficult for everyone involved. I’m sorry that you were dealing with this and I didn’t know. I hate when my friends are going through a rough patch and I don’t know about it (I feel pretty good about calling you a friend now).

    I will keep you and your family in my prayers and I will pray for your father’s peace. I’m very very sorry for your loss.


Leave a Reply

