Dealing with Setbacks

So here I go with my first regularly scheduled blog post (last Monday didn’t count as it was a stat holiday) and it seems to be starting off with a failure.  I am sorry to say that I have made very little progress on any of my goals.  You see, my household has been suffering from a most dreadful cold.  I haven’t been this sick in years.  Normally colds just bounce by me with little effect, but this one seems to have dug in with both claws and is clinging tenaciously to my sinuses and chest.  I haven’t been able to workout while sick and have had very little energy to focus on anything aside from simply getting through the day.  So, I thought I’d write up a post about how I deal with setbacks.

1. Analyze what happened.
It’s important to figure out what happened to set you back.  Was it something that was inside your sphere of personal control?  Try to be honest with this one and don’t pull any punches.  What can you learn from what happened.  In my case, for example, I could foresee this coming as my husband got sick before I did, but despite my best efforts to avoid it, I still got sick too.  For my other goals this month – working on an Emergency Kit – it’s been a matter of not having the energy to begin.  I have done some thinking about it, but I’ll need to turn that into action very soon, if I’m going to get everything ready.

2. Make course corrections.
Now that you know what the problem is, what can you do to fix it. 
If the problem was internal, then ask yourself what’s holding you back.  Are you afraid of failure?  Are you afraid of success?  Was your goal too lofty or undefined?  Perhaps you need to rework your goal to make it more realistic, or break it up into a smaller goal.  For myself, even when I was working out, I found that I couldn’t do the workout program exactly as it was called for.  My cardio just wasn’t able to sustain the running times they suggested.  So, since I really just wanted to get back into the habit of daily exercise, I tweaked my goal to do just as much as I could of the workout and not feel like that was a failure.  So, even though I was only doing about 2/3 of the recommended program, I still considered it a personal success.

Do you need some help and guidance in order to succeed?  Perhaps now is a good time to recruit a friend to cheer you on or find an expert to help give you some advice.  They might also be able to give you a fresh perspective on things if you can’t seem to figure out why you aren’t making the progress you thought that you would.

3. Resolve to continue.
In the end, it doesn’t really matter if you fail one or one hundred times.  All that matters is that you continue on towards your goal.  Giving up is the only true kind of failure.

*~*~*

I always try to look at the glass as half full, so instead of dwelling on the fact that I haven’t been able to workout and haven’t made any progress with my Emergency Preparation kit, I’m instead enjoying what I am able to do.  This has given me time to catch up on watching some movies, which is an activity that I highly enjoy.  I have also found it very easy to cut out junk food and alcohol when I’m feeling this sick. 

And, since neither my husband nor myself has felt like going out, we’ve spent quite a few evenings working through the Japanese lessons that we’ve got.  He’s also thrown some more time into researching the area we will be traveling to.

One of the things I’ve also been able to do is play with a few new tech things.  (You’ll soon find out that this is a hobby of mine.)  So, not only am I new to the wordpress blogging service, but I’m also blogging with flock (look at the bottom of the post).  And, I discovered that our local library ‘loans’ some audiobooks with a file download service, so I’ve been able to download a few books to put in my MP3 player to listen to on my commute and lunch break.  Had I not been sick, I likely wouldn’t have had the time to spend on the computer in order to do these things.

Well, I think that’s all the cogency I can muster for today.  I’m off to curl back up in bed and get what little rest I can before returning to work tomorrow.  I’ll include a list of some of the things I’ve read this week that I’ve found particularly compelling in case you’re in the mood to read some more.

*~*~*

Sasha @ to do list writes an article that hit home for me about why she enjoys New Year Resolutions.

Little Purple Cow @ Cool People I Know got the idea to make a list of 25 things I never get tired of.  I’m starting my own list but have only gotten to 20 so far.  I love getting inspired by this blog.  You should definitely check out her other posts and check out her awesome resolution this year to do project 365.

Blogged with Flock

Tags:

1 Comment

  1. January 31, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    […] So far, I’m actually pretty darn happy with how the year has begun.  I’ve had some setbacks, but I’m still focused on my goals.  I am feeling a bit of the blues right now, but my […]


Leave a Reply

