Weekly Miscellaneous – February 5, 2008

I think I like keeping these posts on separate days.  I’ve also been thinking about trying to post more often with more concrete progress on my different projects.  For example, actually blogging some of my Project 29 pictures might be a novel ideal.  Today I started to feel a familiar sense of anxiety come over me.  That feeling that says ‘oh god, how am I going to get it all done.’  I was tense and unable to focus at work.  I hate this feeling.  It got better when I got home though, because I knew what I could work on when I got here.  I think it was compounded by my terrible commute in to work this morning.  It took twice as long as usual and the road conditions were pretty bad.  Commuting in a car is one of the things in life I find most stressful and I’m trying to come up with ways of avoiding it as much as possible.

*~*~*

This fabulous article on living in the present was posted by Leo just this afternoon on Zen Habits.  He always has good stuff on his blog.  It  helped to remind me that I should let go of my anxiety and just focus on being here fully instead.

*~*~*

I sure could have used a system like the one described in this Lifehacker article to avoid a lot of the pain and frustration when my hard drive died back in January.  But do you think I’m going to learn my lesson and implement the set up right away?  Probably not.  I’m still clinging to the hope that the data on the drive might be salvageable.

*~*~*

Zen Habits goes over 30 ways to keep from getting bored at work.  My day job is one where the business and slowness can vary a lot and I don’t have much control over it so there are definitely times I can use some of these pointers!

*~*~*

Gretchin Rubin at the Happiness Project gives a list of some internet tools to make you happier.  I love webapps and have added Listography to my repertoire thanks in part to her recommendation.

*~*~*

Lifehack goes over a list of tips on how to be insanely useful.  I love being useful to people and so I find I already implement most of these in my day to day life.  I think I’m probably especially good at being reliable (which I sometimes think makes me a bit boring.)

3 Comments

  1. Jacklyn said,

    February 11, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    How long is your commute in the mornings? Mine should be about 25 minutes, but it usually takes me about 40. I’ve been doing it for a couple years now, so I’ve kind of gotten used to it. I make smart playlists on my iPod and listen to them in my car, that seems to help. Also try books on tape, they seem to pass the time pretty well. :)

  2. Jennifer said,

    February 11, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Thanks for the great suggestions! I actually just found out I can download audiobooks from my local library for free!

    On a good day, the commute is just under a half an hour. On that particular day the roads were covered by some unexpected ice and it took a solid hour. I’d love to have on some different materials to listen to to pass the time. I have several podcasts I listen to regularly and have some Japanese lessons on .mp3 that I’ve been working through as well. The slight hitch with that plan is that I carpool with my boss/father-in-law and he enjoys listening to talk-radio :(

    I’ve had problems with general driving anxiety in the past though. For a couple of years when I was a teenager I had near panic-attacks when I was a passenger in a vehicle if I was paying attention outside the vehicle. I had to have my nose buried in a book or just be staring at the interior or my whole body would be gripped in tension. I’m not sure why it started since there wasn’t any precipitating event, but I did manage to work through it with some focused relaxation practices. But, if there are bad driving conditions my old anxiety still comes back.

  3. Jacklyn said,

    February 18, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Gosh, I can’t imagine how difficult it must have been for you to drive at first! I was in a really terrible car accident when I was 18, I still don’t think I’ve recovered from it. I flinch any time someone changes into the lane next to me. That’s part of the reason I leave for work by 6AM, there’s much less traffic t deal with.

    I’m super jealous that you can download audio books for free! I need to look into my library and see if I can do the same! Isn’t it amazing how far technology has come, even in just the last couple years? I don’t know what I would do if it weren’t for my iPod.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

